Home Arts & Entertainment Art U News Predicts the Oscars

Art U News Predicts the Oscars

by Art U News

By Art U News Staff

The 2019 awards season comes to a close this month with the 92nd Oscars taking place on Feb. 9. “Joker,” directed by Todd Phillips and starring Joaquin Phoenix, leads the pack with 11 nominations, including Best Picture. As we do every year, the Art U News staff is sharing our predictions of who we think will take home a coveted Oscar. Taking part in this year’s predictions are Kirsten Coachman (Editor), Shou June Lin (Layout Designer), Nina Tabios (Staff Reporter), and Caroline Andrade (Staff Reporter). The 92nd Oscars will air live Sunday, Feb. 9, at 5 p.m. (PST) on ABC.

Best Picture

“1917” KC, SJL
“Joker” CA
“Parasite” NT
Other nominees: “Ford v Ferrari,” “The Irishman,” “Jojo Rabbit,” “Little Women,” “Marriage Story,” “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”


Sam Mendes (“1917”) KC, SJL
Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”) CA
Bong Joon Ho (“Parasite”) NT
Other nominees: Martin Scorsese (“The Irishman”), Todd Phillips (“Joker”)

Actor in a Leading Role

Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”) KC, NT
Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”) SJL, CA
Other nominees: Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory”), Leonardo DiCaprio (“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”), Jonathan Pryce (“The Two Popes”)

Actress in a Leading Role

Charlize Theron, “Bombshell” CA, NT
Renée Zellweger, “Judy” KC, SJL
Other nominees: Cynthia Erivo (“Harriet”), Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”), Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”)

Actor in a Supporting Role

Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” KC, SJL, CA
Tom Hanks, “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood” NT
Other nominees: Anthony Hopkins (“The Two Popes”), Al Pacino (“The Irishman”), Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”)

Actress in a Supporting Role

Laura Dern, “Marriage Story” KC, SJL, CA, NT
Other nominees: Kathy Bates (“Richard Jewell”), Scarlett Johansson (“Jojo Rabbit”), Florence Pugh (“Little Women”), Margot Robbie (“Bombshell”)

Animated Feature Film

“Toy Story 4” (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen, Jonas Rivera) CA, SJL
“Klaus” (Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh, Marisa Román) KC
“I Lost My Body” (Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice) NT
Other nominees: “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World” (Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis, Bonnie Arnold), “Missing Link” (Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner, Travis Knight)

Best International Feature

“Parasite” (South Korea) KC, SJL, NT
“Les Misérables” (France) CA
Other nominees: “Corpus Christi” (Poland), “Honeyland” (North Macedonia), “Pain and Glory” (Spain)

Best Documentary Feature

“American Factory” (Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert, Jeff Reichert) SJL
“The Cave” (Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod, Sigrid Dyekjær) CA
“For Sama” (Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts) KC
“Honeyland” (Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska, Atanas Georgiev) NT
Other nominees: “The Edge of Democracy” (Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris, Tiago Pavan)

Adapted Screenplay

“Little Women” (Greta Gerwig) KC, SJL, CA
“The Two Popes” (Anthony McCarten) NT
Other nominees: “The Irishman” (Steven Zaillian), “Jojo Rabbit” (Taika Waititi), “Joker” (Todd Phillips and Scott Silver)

Original Screenplay

“Parasite” (Screenplay by Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won; Story by Bong Joon Ho) KC, NT
“Marriage Story” (Noah Baumbach) SJL
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Quentin Tarantino) CA
Other nominees: “1917” (Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns), “Knives Out” (Rian Johnson)


“1917” (Roger Deakins) KC, SJL
“Joker” (Lawrence Sher) CA
“The Lighthouse” (Jarin Blaschke) NT
Other nominees: “The Irishman” (Rodrigo Prieto), “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Robert Richardson)

Film Editing

“Joker” (Jeff Groth) SJL, CA
“Ford v Ferrari” (Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland) NT
“Parasite” (Yang Jin-mo) KC
Other nominees: “The Irishman” (Thelma Schoonmaker), “Jojo Rabbit” (Tom Eagles)

Sound Editing

“Ford v Ferrari” (Donald Sylvester) KC, NT
“1917” (Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate) SJL
“Joker” (Alan Robert Murray) CA
Other nominees: “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Wylie Stateman),
“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (Matthew Wood and David Acord)

Sound Mixing

“Ford v Ferrari” (Paul Massey, David Giammarco, Steven A. Morrow) KC, SJL
“1917” (Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson) NT
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler, Mark Ulano) CA
Other nominees: “Ad Astra” (Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, Mark Ulano), “Joker” (Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, Tod Maitland)

Production Design

“Parasite” (Production Design: Lee Ha Jun; Set Decoration: Cho Won Woo) KC, NT
“1917” (Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales) SJL
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh) CA
Other nominees: “The Irishman” (Production Design: Bob Shaw; Set Decoration: Regina Graves), “Jojo Rabbit” (Production Design: Ra Vincent; Set Decoration: Nora Sopková)

Original Score

“1917” (Thomas Newman) KC
“Joker” (Hildur Guðnadóttir) NT
“Little Women” (Alexandre Desplat) SJL
“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (John Williams) CA
Other nominees: “Marriage Story” (Randy Newman)

Original Song

“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” (from “Rocketman”; Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin) KC, SJL, CA
“Into The Unknown” (from “Frozen II”; Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez) NT
Other nominees: “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” (from “Toy Story 4”; Music and Lyric by Randy Newman), “I’m Standing With You” (from “Breakthrough”; Music and Lyric by Diane Warren), “Stand Up” (from “Harriet”; Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo)

Makeup & Hairstyling

“Bombshell” (Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, Vivian Baker) KC, CA
“Joker” (Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou) SJL
“Judy” (Jeremy Woodhead) NT
Other nominees: “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” (Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten, David White), “1917” (Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis, Rebecca Cole)

Costume Design

“Little Women” (Jacqueline Durran) KC, NT
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” (Arianne Phillips) SJL, CA
Other nominees: “The Irishman” (Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson), “Jojo Rabbit” (Mayes C. Rubeo), “Joker” (Mark Bridges)

Visual Effects

“Avengers: Endgame” (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken, Dan Sudick) KC, SJL, NT
“The Lion King” (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, Elliot Newman) CA
Other nominees: “1917” (Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler Dominic Tuohy), “The Irishman” (Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser, Stephane Grabli), “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach, Dominic Tuohy)

Related Articles